Categories News

NRM’s Rose Lilly Akello Wins Kabong’s Woman MP Seat

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) candidate Rose-Lilly Akello has been declared the winner of the Kaabong Woman Member of Parliament seat.

Akello polled 21,814 to edge her closest rival Christine Nakwang (Independent) on a difference of only 256 votes. Nakwang had 21, 558 votes. FDC’s Adyaka Judith trailed with 593 votes out of the 43,965 total number of votes cast.

Kaabong district Returning Officer M/s Sarah Iyolu declared Akello a winner shortly before mid night.

The Kaabong parliamentary seat fell vacant after the Court of Appeal upheld the ruling of the high court nullifying the election of Christine Nakwang Tubo who initially contested as the NRM party candidate in the 2016 general election.

Akello represented Kaabong in Parliament in the 9th Parliament before losing the seat to Tubo in February 2016.

Tubo, who initially won the race with 19,460 votes, was accused of bribing voters in at least six polling stations. The polling stations were identified as Nikwapicha Village, Nachukulu, Morouetome, Kathile Sub County, Kathile Trading Centre and Namamutau.

In his initial ruling, presiding judge Billy Kainamura ruled that Tubo erred in law when she slaughtered a ram for a feast and bought drinks for over 100 voters on the eve of the February 18 parliamentary elections. The judge said the act contradicted the Parliamentary Elections Act, 2005.

Court also heard that Tubo distributed cash and other items to her opponent’s supporters to persuade them to abandon their candidate and vote for he

About the author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *